Yes, per federal law gun owners may possess silencers in New Jersey. The Garden State’s only restriction is that the device cannot be attached to a firearm while in use. It is perfectly legal, however, to store a silencer in your home or at a shooting range. For more information on purchasing and possessing firearms in New Jersey, please consult the state’s Office of Attorney General Firearms Bureau.
No, gun suppressors are not legal in the state of New Jersey. Any person who uses or possesses a firearm silencer in New Jersey is guilty of a crime of the third degree and shall be fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000, or sentenced to a term of imprisonment not exceeding five years, or both.